Beet & quinoa salad

After another fantastic visit to The Enjoy Centre in St.Albert…I was on a mission to recreate a beet and quinoa salad I had at lunch from the Prairie Bistro.

I googled a few and found a few ideas. I modified them a bit and came up with this.

1. Preheated the oven to 400 degrees. Diced 3 beets. Tossed them in olive oil, s & p. Roasted them in the oven for 30 minutes.

20111106-165206.jpg

 

2. While the beets were cooking I cooked 1 cup of quinoa.

3. To make the dressing I combined: 1 1/2 tbs of red wine vinegar, 1 tbs orange juice, 1 tsp Dijon mustard, 1 tsp olive oil and salt and pepper.

20111106-165357.jpg

4. Once the beets and quinoa were done I combined everything. I added about 3 handfuls of mixed spinach and arugula chopped up. Stirred it all together and popped it in the fridge (I like it cold, but it could be eaten warm).

20111106-165558.jpg

Turned out delish! Next time I’d add some lemon juice.
Looking forward to having it for lunch this week!
Two SUPER foods combined!

Hope you had a lovely weekend! We sure did šŸ˜‰

This entry was posted in Dinner, Gluten Free, Lunch, Salad, Side dishes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Beet & quinoa salad

  1. wilme says:

    This is my favourite dish at the Enjoy Centre. I leave there and I already start to crave it šŸ™‚ Will definitely make this recipe, thank you for sharing it with us!

Leave a Reply

